Today is Sunday so you know what that means – brunch! One of my favorite things to do. Weekends were just made for brunching with friends and/or family. Brunch is the best meal because you have the option of either ordering breakfast food or lunch food or a combination of the two within one meal. I mean, what more could you really ask for?! And plus, brunch almost always involves mimosas. Unless you’re with your grandma, then maybe you should skip out on the whole drinking before noon thing, you alcoholic you.

The reason I bring up the whole grandma thing is because this Sunday brunch involved brunching with my grandma (so no mimosas or bloody mary’s for me unfortunately). My mom, dad, and grandma all came to visit from Austin this morning and we ate at the Root Cellar Cafe, which is my favorite place to grab brunch in San Marcos. One of the best things about your parents coming in town to take you out to eat is not having to foot the bill. Sorry mom and dad – I really do love you guys but man is it nice to be able to order iced tea instead of “just water” without having to worry about the extra two bucks on the bill.

Everything I’ve tried at the Root Cellar Cafe has been SO good. It’s always such a tough choice for me when deciding what to order. This morning I decided to go with the breakfast sandwich. To be honest, the breakfast sandwich is my go to thing to order there. It’s basically two fried eggs with your choice of breakfast meat stuffed between an english muffin with cheese. Um, YUM. I’m getting hungry again just thinking about it. It’s served with a seasonal fruit bowl (this morning it was oranges, grapes, and watermelon) and even comes with a pretty garnish of some sort of fruit sauce on the plate which I often dip my fruit in. My boyfriend tagged along (probably mainly for the free meal) and ordered the belgian waffle which was topped with whipped cream and fruit. Let’s just say, Leslie Knope definitely would have approved of this creation. It was delicious. I’m not a huge fan of super sweet stuff like french toast and pancakes for breakfast, but I have to say, the waffle was really good and I’ll probably order it next time I go to change things up a bit.

The Root Cellar is the cutest little place right off the square in downtown San Marcos. I’m such a sucker for a good atmosphere, and this place definitely has that going on. The building itself is old and was definitely not meant to be a restaurant, but they make it work. The place gets really good Yelp reviews too, which is extremely important to me. I almost always check Yelp reviews before eating somewhere so I can see what people’s favorite things to order are. http://www.yelp.com/biz/root-cellar-café-san-marcos-3

Overall, brunch today was really really good. The Root Cellar will forever be one of my favorite places to eat in San Marcos, especially for brunch.

That’s all for now!

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
