Yesterday was a very exciting day for me. When I say exciting, I mean EXCITING. I got to learn how to roll my very own sushi! This has been a dream of mine for quite some time. I absolutely love sushi for two reasons: it’s delicious and beautiful. Sushi is very much so an art, and I think that’s one of the main reasons people obsess over it.

Luckily for me, I work at one of the few sushi restaurants in San Marcos. Kobe Steakhouse is a Japanese restaurant that offers sushi and teppan (that’s the hibachi grill where they cook in front of you) and many other japanese dishes such as gyoza and harumaki. The sushi at Kobe is really good! They have a ton of rolls on the menu and they even offer a selection of $5 rolls during happy hour.

Here’s the Kobe website if you would like to check it out! http://www.kobe-aztx.com/index.html

Ever since I started working at Kobe, I have been begging my manager to teach me how to roll sushi. I mean begging. Well, yesterday when we were super slow, he finally decided to teach me and I was beyond myself with excitement. Let me just say that I now give major props to the sushi chefs for being able to make rolls so fast, because it is much harder than it looks.

The roll I made had tuna, avocado, and cream cheese rolled with white rice and seaweed paper. I topped it with seared tuna pieces, chili flakes, eel sauce, and tempura flakes. It was SO delicious. I was very proud of my creation.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset
Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset
Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
