One thing that we are very lucky to have in San Marcos is an abundance of cute little coffee shops. There’s Mochas & Javas, Tantra Coffee House, Wake the Dead Coffee House, and my new favorite, Jo’s Cafe. Today I stopped by Jo’s Cafe to grab some lunch and a coffee and do a little blogging. I’ve visited Jo on the Go a handful of times, but this was my first time to ever go to Jo’s Cafe. I believe that Jo on and Go and Jo’s Cafe are owned by the same people, considering they have many of the same menu items. One of my favorite things about both of these places are the specialty candy bar coffee drinks! They have drinks such as the Snickers and Butterfingers that are supposed to resemble the taste of the candy bar. You can get these drinks either iced or hot, so these make for the perfect afternoon refresher!

Today I decided to get an iced vanilla latte made with soy. This is usually my go to coffee drink to order at any coffee shop. I’m not a die-hard coffee lover or anything, but I do enjoy a good latte! Their lattes are super yummy. They’re made with the perfect amount of sweetness – not too bitter but not sickly sweet either.

As for food, I had the ham and cheese panini. The panini was tasty, but not the best sandwich I’ve ever had. Personally, I prefer the sandwiches at Tantra (their vegetable sandwich is my absolute favorite!) but the panini was by no means bad. They had a breakfast quesadilla on the specials board that looked amazing! It was made with scrambled eggs and vegetables. I think next time I’ll try that instead!

My favorite thing about Jo’s Cafe is the atmosphere. The space itself is fairly small, but there’s a handful of tables and some couches inside that give it a cozy vibe. I can’t wait to come to this place in the fall/spring because they have a really cool outdoor area with tables and chairs. Right now it’s incredibly too hot to sit outside, but I’ll definitely come here to study and grab a latte in the fall semester. Another great thing about this place is that it’s within walking distance of my apartment! I live at the Vistas and it’s just a short walk to get here from my complex. Once again, when it’s a bit cooler outside, I’ll definitely enjoy walking or riding my bike here!

Here’s Jo’s Cafe’s Facebook page, in case you’re interested in checking it out!

 https://www.facebook.com/pages/Jos-Cafe/242591845931740?fref=ts

Next time you’re in the mood for a good cup of coffee and some tasty breakfast or lunch, check out the little blue house on Mary St. You’ll be happy you did!

Ham & Cheese, please!
Ham & Cheese, please!
Iced Vanilla Latte
Iced Vanilla Latte
