There are so many food blogs out there that it was difficult choosing one that really stood out to me. I know on my blog I mainly discuss places to eat out at as opposed to sharing recipes and things I’ve cooked myself. I mentioned in an earlier post that I wanted to experiment with cooking some of my own food and sharing that on here, which I have yet to do (oops).

With that said, the blog I’m choosing to review consists of recipes that the blogger has come up with herself. Jeanine and her husband live in Austin, TX, so they’re quite local to the San Marcos area! http://www.loveandlemons.com is the name of her blog.

One of the first things that stuck out to me about the blog is the fact that most of the recipes posted are vegetarian. After having been a vegetarian myself for many years, I understand and admire her creativity with the recipes because it can be very difficult to come up with interesting and fulfilling vegetarian meals. Many of my friends are vegetarians so I’m often subjected to vegetarian friendly meals at social gatherings (not that that’s a bad thing!). Anyway, as I was scrolling down the homepage of the blog, the first recipe that really caught my eye was the strawberry basil smashed avocado toast. It looks SO delicious! I’m a huge fan of anything with avocado in it or on it, and this recipe sounds perfect for the summer.

Most of the recipes on Love & Lemons look super healthy, which is a huge plus! Jeanine uses fresh and wholesome ingredients, which is something I really admire in someone’s cooking. I think what really makes this blog unique is that many of Jeanine’s recipes are based off her travel experiences. I love trying ethnic food, and the fact that Jeanine tries to recreate recipes she’s tried from all around the world is really cool.

Something else I love about Love & Lemons is that you can search for recipes by ingredients, special diets, and even seasons! I definitely plan on trying out some of her recipes in the near future.

This is her
This is her “sweet pepper panzanella”. I love how colorful this dish is! http://www.loveandlemons.com/2014/07/25/sweet-pepper-panzanella/
